Tuesday, April 08, 2014

Aklanon teachers get ATOM awards


Ten elementary and secondary school teachers are recipients of the first Aklan’s Ten Outstanding Mentors (ATOM) awards. The educators will receive their awards in a ceremony at ABL Sports and Cultural Center in Kalibo, Aklan on April 10. 

Winners of ATOM award will receive P10,000 and plaque of recognition from Razon Tumbocon Foundation and the Department of Education (DepEd).

Atty. Razon Tumbocon-Haresco is the late mother of Aklan Rep. Teodorico Haresco, Jr. She served as Tariff Commission chairman in late 1960s. 

Six of the ATOM awardees came from public elementary level, three from public secondary level and one from private elementary level. 

The ten teachers who made it to the list are:
- Master Teacher I Aileen Bautista of Banga Elementary School (District of Banga)
- Master Teacher II Dennis Bontogon of Kalibo Pilot Elementary School (District of Kalibo I)
- Teacher I Mark Daroy of Tamalagon Integrated School (District of Tangalan)
- Teacher III Claire Fernandez of Sta. Cruz Elementary School (District of Ibajay West)
- Teacher III Adelfa Mostajo of Regional Science High School for Region VI (District of Kalibo II)
- Teacher I Helen Rejuso of Caticlan Elementary School (District of Malay)
- Master Teacher II Nanette Sitjar of Tangalan Elementary School (District of Tangalan)
- Special Education Teacher I Mary Joy Suganob of Kalibo Integrated Special Education Center (District of Kalibo II)
- Teacher III Marth Tropa of Makato Integrated School (District of Makato)
- Teacher Marie Joy Urbano-de Pedro of Aklan Inter Faith Academy (District of Kalibo I)

The recipient is recognized for outstanding and exemplary competence in teaching and community work. 

DepEd secretary Bro. Armin Luistro, Aklan Governor Florencio Miraflores, Aklan Vice Governor Gabrielle Calizo-Quimpo, Aklan Schools Division Superintendent Dr. Jesse Gomez and Aklan Rep. Haresco, Jr. are expected to grace the ATOM awarding ceremony on Thursday at 9 a.m.

To be considered for this award, the teacher must have been nominated by their school head and endorsed by the public schools district supervisor or the principal in-charge of the district.

The nominee with the rank of Teacher I to Master Teacher II must be teaching in the elementary and secondary level including the alternative learning system and have at least five years in service.

The recognition and awards received, performance rating, leadership in the community, research, attitude towards work, supervisors and peers, academic performance (results in the national achievement test), printed publications, position as trainor/lecturer/demo teacher/resource speaker/contest/judge/consultant and initiatives and best practices leading to efficiency and efficiency are the criteria for selecting the annual recipients of this award.

1 comment:

albina N muro said...

Ten elementary and secondary school teachers are recipients of the first Aklan’s Ten Outstanding Mentors (ATOM) awards. Trophy Store