Wednesday, June 30, 2010

  • 21 Aklan SP committees up for grabs
KALIBO, Aklan – Expect more fireworks in the selection of committee chairmanship as Aklan Sangguniang Panlalawigan (SP) holds its inaugural session on Thursday morning.
Reelected Tibyog Akean SP members Selwyn Ibarreta, Rodson Mayor, Gerick Templonuevo, Daisy Briones, Jean Rodriquez and Nemesio Neron are most likely to retain their committees in the legislative council.
Ibarreta, the only lawyer in the 13-member Aklan SP, will handle the powerful standing committees on Appropriation, Budget and Finance and Ways and Means and the Laws, Rules and Ordinances.
In a ‘minor’ shakeup of committee chairmanships, Mayor would likely get the committees on Energy, Public Utilities, Transportation and Facilities and the Education, Culture, Science and Technology.
Mayor is a senior member of the two committees formerly occupied by outgoing SP member Plaridel Morania.
Of the 10 SP members elected on May 10, 2010 election, only Raymar Rebaldo (Nacionalista Party) is considered aligned with Aklan Vice Governor-elect and presiding officer Gabrielle Calizo-Quimpo while former Ibajay councilor and now SP member Victor Manuel Garcia ran under the Partido ng Masang Pilipino (PMP).
Calizo-Quimpo, however, has affiliated with the United Leadership Coalition with Tibyog Akean leaders - unopposed Aklan Rep. Florencio Miraflores and Aklan Governor-elect Carlito Marquez.
A reliable source said that two committees previously handled by Mayor will be chaired by Garcia for the Oversight Committee and Rebaldo for the committee on Internal Ethics, Privileges and Discipline. The two SP are also members of at least six standing committees.
Meanwhile, two-termer board member Neron will retain his committees on Disaster Preparedness and the Peace and Order and is interested to handle the Cooperatives, Food Agriculture and Environmental Protection committee chaired by outgoing SP member Pedro Garcia.
Templonuevo got the committees on Human Resource and the Public Works, Housing and Urban Relocation. Briones is said to retain her committee on Women and Family Welfare and will head the Committee on Games and Amusements while another woman SP member Rodriquez has accepted the Committee on Health and Social Services.
Phoebe Clarice Cabagnot of the United Leadership Coalition is reportedly eyeing the Labor and Employment. Also Tibyog member and newcomer Jose Enrique Miraflores is expected to chair the Tourism, Trade, Industry and Commerce committee chaired by outgoing board member Jose Yap.
Two ex-officio members Teody Masangya of the Association of Barangay Captains retained his Committee on Barangay Affairs and Jun Rey Tordecillas of the Federation of Sangguniang Kabataan for the Committee on Youth and Sports Development.
The Philippine Councilors League (PCL) Aklan has yet to elect its president to replace Wilbert Ariel Igoy, who was elected town mayor of Malinao.
The Sanggunian, which constitutes 21 regular and standing committees composed of a chairman and two members, is still deliberating the internal rules and procedure in an executive session on Monday afternoon.

No comments: